Nothing to see here, move on...

I get my inspiration from a variety of places, and I find the natural world offers a variety of spectacles beyond compare, on every scale from the minute to the gigantic. So I look forward every year to the Veolia World Wildlife Photographer of the Year prize. This year’s have just been announced, and were I still living in London I would no doubt be visiting soon, because these pictures are quit astounding up close. Since I’m not, I have to satisfy myself with viewing very small versions online (bastards!), but they’re still pretty stunning. As always, my favourite is an underwater one, this time involving a young sperm whale approaching the camera. I strongly recommend visiting the Natural History Museum, either physically or virtually, to check out the exhibition, and buying the associated “coffee-table book” if you have the chance. The pictures are stunning, and the settings for the photos, and stories behind the scenes, often inspirational for game content and ideas.

