I’m not a theatre buff but it seems I’ve been seeing a little more than usual! Last week I went to see a pair of plays based on the works of two Japanese authors. The link suggests that these plays were based on the work of Yukio Mishima, famous gay fascist author who committed suicide; but in fact the second play, Hellscreen, was based on the work of Akutagawa Ryunosuke. It would appear there was a small error here…

… anyway, the two plays are very interesting, with quite beautiful language (they were in English). However, the acting was quite ordinary. I am such a phillistine that I didn’t notice – I just thought “why do people always have to be so wooden in plays?” but in fact, apparently, according to my ever-so-knowledgeable friends, the acting was “amateur”. To me all theatre is amateur. Haven’t these guys seen Home and Away? In the first one the hammy acting was bearable; in the second, not so much. But the stories and language were nice and it only cost me 6 pounds. I recommend it for those interested in seeing some very nice Japanese work brought to life. But I should warn you, gentle reader – the subject matter is murder and sadism. You go warned!

